Welcome to my Blog

Welcome to my Blog
Quiet people have the loudest mind. - Stephen Hawking

Welcome to my blog!  My name is Emily Yan, and I hope you have fun reading my stories.

What called this blog into being?

There are many thoughts and feelings that the year 2020 has provoked in me.

The world is noisy. Life is busy.

What I've tried to do is reflect upon things that I discovered in silence.

You may have already encountered many articles about the year 2020, analytical or political. My blog will not be any of those. One of my English professors at college used to quote a line by Sontag,

"A style is a means of insisting on something."  

As I am just starting, I hope to organize my thoughts about my work (as a marketing professional) and life. My favorite Agaritine writer Jorge Luis Borges once described the world as a garden of forking paths. Writing is a very powerful way of searching the trail. While most of my blog posts will focus on marketing, you can expect to read about other topics that I hope to bring a change - climate change, technology innovations, and even banana bread. And, hopefully, I will find "something" as I write on. Please comment, critique, and follow!

​What is "Introvert"?  

I believe it is the power to change things quietly.

Emily Yan

April 04, 2021

Redwood City, CA